Skip to Content
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Nathalie Stutzmann Conducts Atlanta Symphony Orchestra with Haochen Zhang
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor" & New World Symphony

Featured Performers


  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73, "Emperor"
  • DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World"

Pre-concert lecture at 7pm by KUSC's Brian Lauritzen

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra makes its debut in Orange County, led by the second woman in history to lead a major American orchestra, Nathalie Stutzmann, and joined by award-winning pianist Haochen Zhang.

Nathalie Stutzmann began her role as The Philadelphia Orchestra’s principal guest conductor with the 2021–22 season. She made her Philadelphia Orchestra conducting debut in 2016. She is also in her first season as music director of the Atlanta Symphony, only the second woman to lead a major American orchestra, and her fifth season as chief conductor of the Kristiansand Symphony in Norway.

Since his gold medal win at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Haochen Zhang has captivated audiences in the United States, Europe, and Asia with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination, and spectacular virtuosity. In 2017, Haochen received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, which recognizes talented musicians with the potential for a major career in music.


sponsored by the Donna L. Kendall Foundation

Additional support from the Segerstrom Foundation

You Might Also Enjoy

San Francisco Symphony

All-Sibelius with Esa-Pekka Salonen and San Francisco Symphony
Lisa Batiashvili, violin

High School Orchestra Festival

11th Annual Philharmonic Invitational High School Orchestra Festival