Skip to Content

Philadelphia Orchestra with Nathalie Stutzmann and Haochen Zhang

Featured Performers


  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73 ("Emperor")
  • DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World"

One of the world’s preeminent orchestras, Philadelphia Orchestra, makes its triumphant return to Orange County for the first time in 17 years, led by the second woman in history to lead a major American orchestra, Nathalie Stutzmann, and joined by award-winning pianist Haochen Zhang.

The Philadelphia Orchestra is one of the world’s preeminent orchestras. It strives to share the transformative power of music with the widest possible audience, and to create joy, connection, and excitement through music in the Philadelphia region, across the country, and around the world. Through innovative programming, robust educational initiatives, and commitment to the community, the ensemble is on a path to create an expansive future for classical music, and to further the place of the arts in an open and democratic society. Yannick Nézet-Séguin is now in his 10th season as the eighth music director of The Philadelphia Orchestra. He joins a remarkable list of music directors spanning the Orchestra’s 120 seasons: Fritz Scheel, Carl Pohlig, Leopold Stokowski, Eugene Ormandy, Riccardo Muti, Wolfgang Sawallisch, and Christoph Eschenbach.

Nathalie Stutzmann began her role as The Philadelphia Orchestra’s principal guest conductor with the 2021–22 season. She made her Philadelphia Orchestra conducting debut in 2016. She is also in her first season as music director of the Atlanta Symphony, only the second woman to lead a major American orchestra, and her fifth season as chief conductor of the Kristiansand Symphony in Norway.

Since his gold medal win at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Haochen Zhang has captivated audiences in the United States, Europe, and Asia with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination, and spectacular virtuosity. In 2017, Haochen received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, which recognizes talented musicians with the potential for a major career in music.


sponsored by the Donna L. Kendall Foundation

You Might Also Enjoy

San Francisco Symphony

San Francisco Symphony with Esa-Pekka Salonen and Lisa Batiashvili

Joshua Bell & Academy of St. Martin in the Fields

Joshua Bell & Academy of St Martin in the Fields

Danish String Quartet

Danish String Quartet