Skip to Content
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Fragments: Chapter One
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Featured Performers


  • FRAGMENTS: Chapter One

With FRAGMENTS, cellist Alisa Weilerstein creates a space for performer, composer, and listener that is at once physically intimate and philosophically expansive.

FRAGMENTS is a groundbreaking project for solo cello that weaves together the 36 movements of Bach’s solo cello suites and 27 newly commissioned works, dividing the whole into six hour-long Chapters to be released over several seasons. FRAGMENTS: Chapter One is set against the familiar backdrop of Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1. 

Within each Chapter, individual movements from a single suite and a selection of new works are mindfully arranged into a new emotional arc, set within an atmosphere of responsive lighting and scenic architecture. The music is performed without pause and without a program, creating a wholly original experience that empowers audiences to surrender to their senses. 

You Might Also Enjoy

Concerto Köln

Concerto Köln with Jeanine De Bique

Zurich Chamber Orchestra with Daniel Hope

Zurich Chamber Orchestra with Daniel Hope

Fanm d’Ayiti (Women of Haiti)
Nathalie Joachim and Friends