Skip to Content
Casals Quartet

Casals Quartet

Featured Performers


  • HAYDN: String Quartet in A major, Op. 20, No. 6 

  • BEETHOVEN: String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135               

  • SHOSTAKOVICH: String Quartet No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 117 

First Prize winners at the London and Brahms-Hamburg competitions, the Casals Quartet brings its lively energy and impeccable precision to this performance of Beethoven, Haydn and Shostakovich string quartets.

A prize from the prestigious Burletti-Buitoni Trust in London enabled the quartet to begin a collection of matching Baroque and Classical period bows which it uses for works from Purcell through Schubert, refining its ability to distinguish between diverse musical styles.

Overwhelming, sensational, at the moment peerlessly good.

Berliner Zeitung

You Might Also Enjoy

Russian National Orchestra

Russian National Orchestra (cancelled)