Box Office

Past Laguna Beach Music Festival Artists

February 2016
Artistic Directors: Jennifer Koh, violin & Shai Wosner, piano

Featured Artists:
wild Up
Christopher Rountree, conductor

February 2015
Artistic Director: Los Angeles Guitar Quartet

Featured Artists:
Los Angeles Percussion Quartet
Janelle DeStafano, mezzo-saprano
Phil Proctor, actor
LA Flamenco

February 2014
Artistic Director: Jeffrey Kahane

Featured Artists:
Gabriel Kahane
Linden String Quartet

February 2013
Artistic Director: Pablo Ziegler

Featured Artists:
Pablo Ziegler Classical Tango Quartet
Hector del Curto
Pedro Giraudo
Jisoo Ok
Calidore Quartet
Regina Carter
Ronald Leonard
Cellists from Colburn, Huayucaltia, and Todo Mundo

February 2012
Artistic Director: Joshua Bell, violin

Featured Artists:
Sam Haywood, piano
Edgar Meyer, double bass
Calder Quartet
Calidore Quartet

February 2011
Artistic Director: Brooklyn Rider

Featured Artists:
Kayhan Kalhor, kamancheh (Persian fiddle)
Kojiro Umezaki, shakuhachi (Japanese flute)
Emerging artists from Colburn Conservatory of Music and USC Thornton School (Kelsy Blumenthal, Robin Kesselman, Mindy Park, Elicia Silverstein, and Christopher Zack)

January 2010
Artistic Director: Paul Chihara, composer

Associate Director: Greg MacGillivray, IMAX film director and cinematographer

Featured Artists:
Claremont Trio
Claire Chase, flute
Maria Bachmann, violin
Jon Klibonoff, piano

New compositions included works by Paul Chihara, Sharon Farber, and Pamela Madsen for a film by MacGillivray and the commissioning of a new work by Donald Crockett for the Claremont Trio.

January 2009
Artistic Director: Lynn Harrell, cello

Featured Artists:
Colburn Conservatory of Music Quartet (Ryan Lee, violin I; Nigel Armstrong, violin II; Miguel Hernandez, viola; Paul Wiancko, cello)
Daniel Rothmuller, cello (Associate Principal, Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra)
UCI Trio (Shoko Fukumaru, piano; Yoo Jin Oh, cello; Colin Murphy, clarinet)

January 2008
Artistic Director: Turtle Island String Quartet

Featured Artists:
Enso Quartet
Stefon Harris

Commissioned work by Karim Al-Zand, composer-in-residence.

January 2007
Artistic Director: The Ahn Trio

Featured Artists:
David Benoit Trio

Commissioned composers: David Benoit; Paul Chihara; Fernando Otero (composer-in-residence); Nguyen Le and two young emerging composers, Aroop Kar and Brandon Collins.

April 2006
Artistic Director: Edgar Meyer, bass

Featured Artists:
Joy Song, cello
Christine Grossman, viola
Bridget Dolkas, violin
Kathryn Eberle, violin
Katie Hyun, violin
Soyeon Lee, piano
Mihai Marica, cello
Mirabai Weissmehl, violin
Kevin Loucks, piano
Michael Marshall, mandolin

April 2005
Artistic Director: Christopher O'Riley, piano

Featured Artists:
Abraham Feder, cello
Bella Hristova, violin
Yao Guang Zhia, clarinet

April 2004
Artistic Director: Bruno Canino, piano

Featured Artists:
The Biava Quartet
Orion Wind Quintet

April 2003
Artistic Director: Claude Frank, piano

Featured Artists:
The Calder Quartet
Trio Movado