Box Office


Saturday, April 25, 2015 8:00 PM
Renée & Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Series Name: Go For Baroque Mini Series

Monteverdi Celebration Sponsorship Consortium: Colburn Foundation, The Segerstrom Foundation, Mrs. Sharon McNalley, and Mr. Warren G. Coy. With Additional support from the Marcia Kay and Ron Radelet Endowment Fund for Great Orchestras and donors of the Dean Corey Program Fund.

Four centuries ago, Italian composer Claudio Monteverdi created a dramatic masterpiece that would lay the foundation for opera as we know it.

Led by Sir John Eliot Gardiner, the English Baroque Soloists and the Monteverdi Choir bring a concert performance of Monteverdi’s most significant work, L’Orfeo. Based on the Greek legend, L’Orfeo recounts the story of Orpheus’ descent to Hades to retrieve his bride Eurydice from the dead, only to lose her again. With L’Orfeo, Claudio Monteverdi pioneered a new form of musical drama where the characters’ emotions were generated and intensified by music.

This concert performance, an exclusive Southern California engagement, represents a rare opportunity to hear Monteverdi’s magnificent and compelling work.

Click here to access the interactive seat buddy for the Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall


English Baroque Soloists
The Monteverdi Choir
Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor
Krystian Adam, tenor
Francesca Aspromonte, soprano
Francesca Boncompagni, soprano
Gianluca Buratto, bass
Silvia Frigato, soprano
Nicholas Mulroy, tenor
Andrew Tortise, tenor
Gareth Treseder, tenor


MONTEVERDI: L'Orfeo (concert performance)

This program will be performed without intermission (running time approx. 107 minutes).

Pre-Concert Lecture

Pre-concert lecture by Dr. Burton Karson, 7pm


John Mangum, President and Artistic Director of the Philharmonic Society, discusses the upcoming presentation of Monteverdi's L'Orfeo, featuring Sir John Eliot Gardiner conducting the English Baroque Soloists and The Monteverdi Choir.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conducts the English Baroque Soloists in a performance of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 at the BBC Proms 2010.

Pricing Information


Seating Chart