Box Office

Quatuor Mosaïques

Thursday, October 30, 2014 8:00 PM
Irvine Barclay Theatre

Series Name:

LIMITED TIME OFFER - SAVE 20%! See special offer section below

Concert generously sponsored by Mr. Sam B. Ersan

With their choice to perform on period instruments, string quartet Quatuor Mosaïques brings a distinctive quality to the Society’s chamber presentations. The program delves into the Viennese Classical period with a youthful vitality, featuring early works by Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert, whose lives were intertwined as teacher, student and torchbearer.

Founded in 1985 by four members of Austria’s leading Baroque music ensemble Concentus Musicus Wien, Quatuor Mosaïques has won numerous prizes, including the Diapason d'Or, the Choc du Monde de la Musique, and a Gramophone Award. In 2006, Quatuor Mosaïques was invited to Spain to perform for King Juan Carlos I, using the monarch’s personal collection of Stradivari instruments.


Erich Höbarth, violin
Andrea Bischof, violin
Anita Mitterer, viola
Christophe Coin, cello


HAYDN: String Quartet in C major, Op. 20, No. 2
SCHUBERT: String Quartet in E-flat major, No. 10, D.87
BEETHOVEN: String Quartet No. 2 in G major, Op. 18, No. 2

Pre-Concert Lecture

There is no pre-concert lecture currently scheduled for this concert.


For a limited time, buy any Fall 2014 concert and save 20% on a second Fall concert using promo code FALL20. Offer valid only by calling our Patron Services Department at (949) 553-2422, ext. 1.

Other eligible Fall 2014 presentations include:
- Czech Philharmonic (Nov. 4) RHS
- Los Angeles Philharmonic with Gustavo Dudamel (Nov. 23) RHS
- Canadian Brass Holiday Concert (Dec. 15) IBT

Not valid on web orders. A 2-ticket minimum per concert to any two Fall 2014 performances must be purchased to receive discount. Must mention promo code FALL20 when ordering. No discounts to prior purchases. Based on availability. Although rare, all dates, times, artists, programs, and prices are subject to change.


Quatuor Mosaïques performs Haydn's String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op.33, H.3/37.

Erich Höbarth, (Violin I) J. Guarnerius filius Andreae, Cremona 1683
Andrea Bischof, (Violin II) French violin, end of the XVIIIth century
Anita Mitterer, (Viola) viola Christopher L. Lüthi, after N. Amati, 1986
Christophe Coin, (Cello) cello C.A. Testore, Millano 1758

Pricing Information


Seating Chart